Africa, The Cradle of Human Race and the most diverse Natural Reserve of World's Exotic Fauna

In ancient times merchants and travelers developed trade routes from the North African coast to Europe and Asia. As a result, rich and powerful states grew, particularly the Phoenician city of Carthage (modern Tunisia) and Cyrene (modern Libya), a Greek colony. By the fifth century BC, coins were in circulation in parts of Africa. However the most interesting coins of Africa come from the Colonial Period when the continent was carved up among themselves by the Western Powers. 
Thus we see that the Cradle of Humans where the first humans evolved is also one of the most exploited continents in the world. Second only to Asia in size, this land of origin, beauty and resources was exploited by the Western Imperial Powers since the 15th century. Not only the land itself was carved among themselves the colonial powers took it to dehumanize its inhabitants and carry them across the world as commodities. The continent was split and named according the fancies of the colonists to bear the stigma of colonialism as long as they could control this vast area of 11,677,239 square miles.


Visit Coins & Stamps of Africa

It took as late as the second half of the 19th century for the colonial protectorates to become free to manage their own affairs. 

Belgian Congo- Republic of Congo,  established in 1908 as colony of Belgium, it became Republic of the Congo in 1960.

Botswana- Bechuanaland, a British protectorate became independent in 1966 as Republic of Botswana.

Djibouti- French Somaliland, the French colony was renamed to the French Territory of Afars and Issas (1967 – 1977), the territory became independent in 1977, known today as Djibouti

Gold Coast and the Togoland British trust territory became the first sub-Saharan country in colonial Africa was the first to gain independence as Ghana in 1957.

Lesotho- Basutoland, a British protectorate became independent in 1966 as the Kingdom of Lesotho.

Nyasaland- Malawi, a British protectorate became the independent nation of Malawi in 1964.

Rhodesia, Northern- Zambia was administered by the South Africa Company from 1891 until takeover by the British in 1923. The name was changed to Zambia upon independence in 1964.

Rhodesia, Southern – Zimbabwe, acquired by [British] South Africa Company in 1923, gained independence (as Zimbabwe) in 1980.

Sudan, French- Mali,  a part of the Federation of French West Africa, in 1959, became Sudanese Republic and Senegal and gained independence as Federation of Mali becoming in 1960.

Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged to form the nation of Tanzania in 1964.

Union of South Africa- Republic of South Africa was formed on 31 May 1910 as a parliamentary union of the four self-governing British colonies: the Cape of Good Hope Province, Natal Province, Orange River Colony and the Transvaal Province. The Union came to an end in 1961with a new constitution and became the "Republic of South Africa”.

Rare Coins and Stamps from the Middle East

Sort Order :